The Mountain Goats announce the new album Dark and share the new song “Mobile”: Listen

The mountain goats have announced another new album. It’s called Dark in Here and will be released on June 25th via Merge. The new LP was recorded at FAME Studios in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, the week between their latest releases – Getting Into Knives and Songs for Pierre Chuvin last year. The lead single “Mobile” features Muscle Shoals session players Spooner Oldham on electric piano and Will McFarlane on lead guitar. Check it out below.

In a statement, Mountain Goats bassist Peter Hughes told Mobile:

“One of my quarantine projects after I got home was getting back to Moby Dick and actually finishing it once, and I was amused when I came across Jonah’s story retelling early on. If Melville gave it to us as the fiery New Bedford sermon of the 19th century, what “Mobile” offers could be understood as the flip side of the modern Gulf Coast by Father Mapple, the breeze from McFarlane’s electric guitar and Matt Douglas’ accordion offend the guilty conscience of its protagonist. ”

Read Pitchforks “Update” function 2015 with the mountain goats.

Dark here:

01 Paris enclave
02 The destruction of the Kola Superdeep Borehole Tower
03 Mobile
04 Dark in here
05 Lizard suit
06 When a mighty beast comes
07 To the headless rider
08 The new Hydra collection
09 The slow parts on death metal albums
10 Before I got there
11 Arguing with the mind of Peter Laughner about his Coney Island Baby Review
12 Let me bathe in the demonic light

Comments are closed.